Near Tattershall Bridge, Lincs. This area was originally marshy fenland and was drained in the late 1700s by wind power to create very productive farm land. As the area is low lying it requires continual drainage (uphill) into the River Witham, hence the need for a pumping station. Today, visitors can see the 1865 steam-driven beam engine and also the diesel engine that replaced it in the 1940s - both operational. It's open on one Sunday per month, May - October.